Zones of regulation

The zones of regulation is a curriculum that helps children recognise when they are in different emotional states called ‘zones’. Each zone is represented by a different colour

There are four zones of regulation. They are:

  • Green (happy, calm etc.)
  • Blue (sad, embarrassed etc.)
  • Yellow (silly, nervous etc.)
  • Red (angry, aggressive etc.)

The zones is very effective for those who struggle with self- regulation.This curriculum is becoming very popular within schools and is well used at the school that Smiler 2 and 3 attend.


Download the chart for free:

We use this strategy at home so there is consistency across settings.

This tool is based on The Zones of Regulation® which is trademarked and the intellectual property of Leah Kuypers –

Skip to content